London Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.5
 Rooms  2.7
 Cleanliness  2.8
 Location  2.7
 Security & Safety  3.0
 Service & Staff  3.1
 Food / Dining  2.5
 Total  2.9

"Good Stay"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Jerry D. of Dixon, Ca., United States
Reviewed:   May 23, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I think many of the reviews of this hotel are unfair. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times. The bathrooms and showers were always clean. Not all the rooms are small. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. It has a classic working class pub. The pub and rooms are old. It is true that if you reserve a specific bed arrangement you may not get it. The breakfast is good. For the price it is what it is. Also, the pub food is good. I would stay again.

I had a great time at the pub on quiz night(Wednesday?) The other entertainment is great. Its an old hotel/pub. The price is right. It is what it is.

"Good experience"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Martin D. of Paris, France
Reviewed:   May 15, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Londoninstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My room was comfortable and the showers worked good.
The atmosphere of the place is specially nice because the basement of the hotel is a pub.
It's 30 minutes (train + walking) from Liverpool Street in London. Staff is helpful and friendly and moreover they offer the english breakfast in the morning.
Forest Gate hotel offers a good relation between price and quality.

"Forest gate is OK"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Robert T. of Eindhoven, Netherlands
Reviewed:   March 5, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Forrest Gate does not respond to my questions I send in advance via mail (5 times) so I had to phone for more info.
I stayed from friday to tuesday. Had a single room.
Room, toilets and showers are clean. Breakfast is OK (but heavy for the Dutch). Connection, by bus, to Excel Ehibition center is OK. Just a 10 min walk and a 30 min busride. Since the room was above a pub it was noisy (until 2am I guess) but for me that is no problem.
Extending your stay at the hotel is 20% more expensive than booking via Instantworldbooking.

"Good Cheap Hostel"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   F G. of QC, Canada
Reviewed:   January 1, 2008  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good hostel, located in a residential district. Not in the center of London, but with the train, it take around 45 min. from the hostel to St-Pancras. Just buy a day pass and it's nearly the same price than a 1 travel card!!Trains are regular at forest gate.
Anyway, the pub may be a problem for noise, but it the only source you can find there. Price are really cheap and the staff very friendly. Room are ok, but for the price, they are great!

"3 Nights at Forest Gate"

User Rating:  2.6
Reviewer:   J S. of NY, United States
Reviewed:   December 21, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Londoninstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Forest Gate Hotel (it's really not a hotel, but a noisy pub with a handful of rooms above it) is not conveniently located if you're visiting the tourist attractions of London. They also don't return emails or phone calls. However, the rooms are clean and suitable for a short stay.

"Forest Gate Hotel"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Katka G. of Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed:   August 27, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   August 2006     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We have enjoyed our stay in hostel Forest Gate,clean and cheap...

"London outskirts?!"

User Rating:  2.8
Reviewer:   Krisse K. of siuntio, Finland
Reviewed:   August 13, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Reasonably priced! Excellent choice, if you need a place for yoyr luggage while you are checking out the sites in the city... Very nice hosts and hostesses, and a good breakfast. We left in the morning, came back at night, had a few beers downstairs and then up to bed..

worth the money, not the easiest place to find, but once you´re there you´ll find it easy again.

-Krisse and Sande

"what a mess!!"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Harmony L. of paslieres, France
Reviewed:   July 26, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2006     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
that was the worse "hotel" (if it can be called so!) i've ever been in! first they charged me twice, then there were people knocking at our door all night, strange people sitting in the stairs, and other screaming! when we woke up there was a police helicopter flying over the hotel, we were so afraid + couldnt have diner at all there

"Stay in Forest Gate"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Aksels C. of Riga, Latvia
Reviewed:   July 15, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Forest Gate Hotel ir very small hotel with specific feeling inside.. it was tipical UK building and region. It was very nice feeling to live there, meals was vert taisty... Only it is hard to get there, becouse at night You have to take the bus, to get to this Hotel, but in day You can take railway.. But this is anice hotel! :)

"simple, cheap, friendly, recommended!"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Michael M. of enschede, Netherlands
Reviewed:   July 14, 2007  (see hotel reviews from Londoninstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Arriving at wednesday on 22:00, me and my girlfriend stubled into the pub underneath the hotel.
Immediately we were helped by the hotel owner, a friendly chap. The pub closes aroun 23:00, after that it's relatively quiet, except one night when people kept lingering outside the pub until 00:00 at a very loud volume.

The hotel itself was not noisy at all.

The showers and toilets were allright, but were refurbished at the time.

English breakfast, included in the price, was ok, and again the staff were very friendly.

The pub downstairs was quite nice to be in, a community pub, nice atmosphere.

The station is about 15 mins walk away, and hot food in an other pub, 10 mins walk away.
London liverpool station is 20 mins away.

The hotel owner was very helpful when we asked for a travel plug.

The rooms were a bit on the small side.

Overall: a very nice hotel to stay in, not just considering the price.


1 - 10 of 11 reviews  Next 1 result




LondonInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hotel Reviews  |   Write a Hotel Review  |   Suggest Hotels  |   Search Hotels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hotel  |   Link to Us